Review: The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong


Book Information:

The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong
Harper Collins Publishers
Published in 2010
ISBN 9780061662836
391 Pages

Series Information:

Edison Group Experiments Book 03
Darkest Powers Trilogy Book 03
Last Book in the Darkest Powers Arc


4 out of 5

The gang thinks they have finally found someone who can help them remain hidden from the Edison Group. However, is everyone in the group really trustworthy? And will Chloe finally be able to show her true feelings toward Derek?

Okay, yet another supernatural book. I have one non-supernatural book, and I’m reading that one next, so be patient for it. ;)

This series, so far, has been every interesting in all the books, including this one — even though the novels are similar to everything else I have read in the Young Adult Supernatural genre. The one thing that gets better in this book than in the other two books in the Darkest Powers Chloe’s Story is that Chloe becomes a little less annoying. Why? She’s not as wimpy and whiny in this book, and she actually learns something without being too annoying.

This book goes into a little bit more detail about the Lyle House, Edison Group, and the other characters’ past, which makes it a little bit more interesting than the other two books. Also, it finally has something that the other two books didn’t, which made it a little bit sweeter than the other two books. What made it sweeter? It was the romantic parts between Derek and Chloe at the end of the book.

Another thing I like about this book is that it ties in her other series, which is called Otherworld. However, I wish some of the characters in Otherworld would appear and has a some-what active part in this series, but the author said she won’t do that. Oh, well. It would be nice if she did, but it’s fine if she mentions it.

All in all, it is a great ending to Chloe’s story for this series, but I wish there was a little bit more to it. Go ahead and read it.

Here is some more information about this series. There are a couple of short stories for this series, go to the author’s website for more information and to read them. For the book order, I suggest looking on the author’s website as well.

Also, this series, The Darkest Powers, is apparently separated by character. This is the last book in Chloe’s story, but it is not the last book in The Darkest Powers series. The next book in The Darkest Powers series is The Gathering, which begins Maya’s story.

I’ll read the short stories and create a review on them later on. I have other books to read right now, which are due in a week. :(

Where I Got It:

Checked out from the library.

Challenges Apart Of:



Once with a 2nd review added.

Other Reviews/Author Site:

$New_Bullet Kelley Armstrong
$New_Bullet Goodreads
$New_Bullet Library Thing
$New_Bullet Lavender Lies

Places to Buy From:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s