2nd Review: The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

%TheSummoning

Book Information:

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong
Harper Teen Collins Publishers
Published in 2008
ISBN 9780061662690
390 Pages

Series Information:

Edison Group Experiments Book 1
Darkest Powers Trilogy Book 1

Review/Rating:

2 out of 5

2ND REVIEW. 1ST REVIEW IS HERE.

Chloe was a normal girl, that is, until she starts seeing dead people. After an incident at school, she is sent to Lyle House, a group home for troubled teens. However, there is more to this group home and teens than what meets the eye. Will Chloe and the rest of them figure it out before they are trapped there forever?

I re-read and re-reviewed this book because I didn’t do that good of job last time. ^^; I was hoping that I would like the book better this time around, but most of the time, I was all like, “Meh! Whatever, I want to finish this quickly.” So, I like it a lot less than the first time I read it. I mostly thought the book was average and could have something more added to it.

The plot is sort of interesting because you read about a necromancer, and there aren’t that many young adult (or adult) books about nercomancers. However, that point gets ruined because the main character, who narrates the whole series, reminds me of several other female leads who get thrown into a role they didn’t know they were and does nothing but be a baby about it. Now, if the main character was a little less blah, annoying, and whiny, I might have liked this book a little better. Also, the other characters attract my attention more than Chole does. It had some descriptions, but nothing that grabs my attention. The events were sort of too short and lack details.

Overall, it was a good plot, but the main female character needs a better (less whiny) personality. Not really a good start for this series.

Where I Got It:

Checked out from the library.

Challenges Apart Of:

Goodreads 2011

Re-Reading:

This is the 2nd review, 1st review is here.
Not planning to re-read.

Other Reviews/Author Site:

$New_Bullet Kelley Armstrong
$New_Bullet Goodreads
$New_Bullet Library Thing
$New_Bullet After Twilight
$New_Bullet Creating Discussions

Places to Buy From:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

