Review: Burned by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Book Information:

Burned by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
St. Martin’s Griffin
Published in 2010
ISBN 9780312606169
323 Pages

Series Information:

House of Night Book 07

Review/Rating:

2 out of 5

With Heath’s death, Zoey’s soul has shattered and is on the brink of death herself. In order to help her, her friends must explore ancient vampyre history. Then there’s Stevie Rae, who’s keeping a secret from everyone. And lastly there’s Aphrodite, who has been blessed by Nyx with the gift of seeing the future, a Prophetess. All three of these girls will need to deal with their problems before they and the whole world gets burned.

There will be some spoilers, but I will mark them so that you get a little warning before coming to it. ;)

Like the previous book, this book is told with different point of views, which has actually tone down on the whining that I deplored. You still hear from Stevie Rae, Stark, Heath, Aphrodite, and Rephaim. However, there is one more point of view, Kalona now also tells the story, which was pretty interesting to read. ;) Also, the plot and character developments are getting much better — except for Zoey, of course. :S

Anyways, for the characters, I’m really starting to love Rephaim and Stevie Rae as a couple. They act so cute together without all of the sex and whining that Zoey’s relationships seems to end up with. Another couple development that I’m starting to love a lot is Aphrodite and Darius. I love how they accept each other as they are and don’t try to change each other. However, the Zoey and Stark “couple” is really annoying. Why pair her up with so many different boys? It makes her sound more like the slut than Aphrodite, and I don’t care how the authors try to spin it. When I got to the part where Stark is talking about being a “Guardian” was about honor, not love, I nearly barfed. Especially when you read about them kissing, possibly having sex with her, and basically saying, “I love you,” it stops being honor and changes to love (or horniness at least). URGH! That part annoyed me so much.

As for character development, I still like the side characters more (besides Stark) than Zoey. I haven’t really seen any real development in Zoey — only degrading. *SPOILER WARNING* Also, now that Stark calls her “Queen” because he thinks so, I think that Zoey is going to be much more bossy compared to the other books because she also thinks like that. *WARNING END* Another thing that was a pretty annoying development was the phony and freaky Scottish accent Stark seems to automatically develop after becoming a Guardian. What I want to know is how the hell a person can get an accent in such a short amount of time? I don’t know anyone who has developed an accent that quickly after one single event. And with the new addition of characters, you will still see that the authors are still obsessed with making every character in this book “beautiful”.

Overall, the plot is getting pretty interesting; it’s the main characters that I have a problem with. I also really hated the ending :( — *SPOILER WARNING* why do the authors keep bringing her back, when all she does is whines and tries to pretend she is a leader. *WARNING END* I don’t know how much more I can take of these characters or books when I’m getting annoyed all over again just by typing this. ~__~

Where I Got It:

Checked out from the library.

Challenges Apart Of:

Goodreads 2012
Banned/Challenged No Limit

Other Reviews/Author Site:

P.C. and Kristin Cast
House of Night Series
Goodreads

Places to Buy From:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

